JASmius has graciously invited me to write on his blog, so I thought I’d introduce myself. I’m a staunch conservative who loves America as founded. Jim & I agree about most things, but we do have our disagreements. The most vehement one was regarding the nomination of Harriet Miers to the Supreme Court back in the George W. Bush days (you know, back when there was a man of character in the White House). Well, he was right about that. We agree that the federal government is bloated and almost hopelessly out of control, and that the only way we are going to preserve our freedoms is to elect constitutional conservatives who will begin reversing the process that has been going on for way too long, the process of more and more government power and control over our lives. I’m beginning to wonder if that is ever going to happen, especially after this nomination process.

We had a chance to nominate a constitutional conservative. Scott Walker, Ted Cruz, Bobby Jindal, Carly Fiorina, Marco Rubio – all of them have faults, obviously, who doesn’t? But picking Donald Trump over any of them is crazy. The fervor with which his followers support him is reminiscent of Obama’s followers in 2008; they completely ignored the myriad of red flags surrounding him, focusing only on his skin color. Look what that got us. Donald Trump’s supporters are doing the same thing. There are so many things he has done, so many liberal candidates he has supported, so many things he has said that are completely contrary to what he’s saying now – and they ignore it because he talks a good game. They believed his lies about Ted Cruz, and indeed maligned him and spread the falsehoods because he was the one who had a chance to stop Trump. Cruz is infinitely more qualified to be president, much more intelligent and knowledgeable about how this country works, but it didn’t matter. They want Trump, warts and all, and it doesn’t matter who has to suffer to make that happen. Look at how they attacked Megan Kelly and Fox News when they refused to lick his shoes. The only network even remotely friendly to conservatives, and Trump had them attacking like they were CBS. Really kind of amazing to watch, especially when a lot of those people have been reliable conservatives. Sean Hannity, Laura Ingraham, Ann Coulter? It really surprises me to see them in his camp.

Having said all that – I’m not quite as vehemently anti-Trump as my blog partner. While all of the above is true, I can’t do anything that might remotely help Hillary Clinton become President of the United States. That would be an unspeakable disaster, and I think Trump would be marginally less so. I’ve pretty much checked out of this election cycle. Normally I would be blogging every day about the Republican nominee, playing up his/her strengths and doing everything in my power to promote him/her. While I will hold my nose and vote for Trump over Hillary Clinton, because like it or not, one will be President, I have absolutely no enthusiasm for him, and I won’t be wildly celebrating if he wins. My focus now will be to hopefully help Republicans hold on to the Senate and House. I don’t think Trump has the coattails to help that along, so I’m not sure what’s going to happen there.

That’s where I stand. Thanks, Jim, for the opportunity to blog alongside you.

Leave a Reply

